NAEVR is a 501c4 non-profit advocacy organization comprised of a coalition of 55 professional, patient and consumer, and industry organizations involved in eye and vision research. NAEVR’s goal is to achieve the best eye and vision care for all Americans through advocacy and public education for eye and vision research sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and its National Eye Institute (NEI), Department of Defense (DOD), Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), and other federal agencies.

NAEVR was formed in 1997 as an affiliate of the non-profit 501c3 educational foundation Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR), which was founded in 1993 by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), and Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO). Serving as the “Friends of the NEI,” NAEVR/AEVR emphasize that NEI-funded research to save/restore vision has served to reduce healthcare costs, increase productivity, maintain independence, and improve the quality of life for all Americans. NAEVR works closely with regulatory agencies-specifically the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-to ensure that it is aware of the results of NEI-funded research and how that may affect product approvals.

NAEVR Board of Directors

Paul Lee, MD, JD (University of Michigan) Board President

Steven Feldon, MD, MBA (Flaum Eye Institute/University of Rochester)

Stephen Fliesler, PhD (SUNY-Buffalo/VA Med Center-Buffalo)

Mark Gordon, MS (Alcon)

Yehia Hashad, MD (Allergan)

Linda Hazlett, PhD (Wayne State University School of Medicine) Secretary

Peter McDonnell, MD (Wilmer Eye Institute/Johns Hopkins University)

Joan Miller, MD (Harvard Medical School/Mass Eye and Ear Infirmary)

Bartly Mondino, MD (Jules Stein Eye Institute/UCLA)

Iris Rush, CAE (Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology)

Gregory Skuta, MD (Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma) Treasurer

Earl L. Smith III, OD, PhD (University of Houston)

Jonathan Talamo, MD (J&J Vision)

Thomas Yorio, PhD (UNT Health Science Center)

Karla Zadnik, OD, PhD (Ohio State School of Optometry) Vice President


NAEVR Executive Director

James Jorkasky

NAEVR Director, Government Relations

David H. Epstein