The National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research

Janine Smith, M.D.

Janine A. Smith, M.D., is the Deputy Clinical Director of the National Eye Institute (NEI) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland. Dr. Smith has a particular interest in immune-mediated diseases of the cornea and conjunctiva and in standardization of outcome measures for diseases of the anterior segment.

Dr. Smith received her B.A. from the Johns Hopkins University and her M.D. from Howard University College of Medicine. She did her residency in Ophthalmology at the Medical College of Virginia and had fellowship training in Cornea and External Disease at the Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University, and in Uveitis and Ocular Immunology at the National Eye Institute.

Dr. Smith has been recognized as a leader by her peers. She received the Achievement Award from the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) in 1999, is listed in Strathmore’s Who’s Who, and has served on committees for both the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). Dr. Smith currently serves on the FDA Advisory Panel for Ophthalmic Devices, the Executive Committee of the Women’s Eye Health Task Force of the Schepens Eye Research Institute, the Medical and Scientific Advisory Board of Tissue Banks International, and the Board of Directors of the Sjogren ‘s Syndrome Foundation.