NAEVR and AEVR Boards Elect 2019-2021 Officers

May 2, 2019
CONTACT: James F. Jorkasky
Executive Director
[email protected]


(Washington, D.C.) On April 28 at the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology's (ARVO) Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, the Board of each the National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR) and the Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR) elected 2019-2021 Officers as follows:.

  • President – Paul Lee, MD, JD (Kellogg Eye Center/University of Michigan)
  • Vice President – Karla Zadnik, OD, PhD (Ohio State University College of Optometry)
  • Treasurer – Gregory Skuta, MD (Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma)
  • Secretary – Linda Hazlett, PhD (Wayne State University School of Medicine)

Outgoing NAEVR and AEVR President Peter McDonnell, MD (Wilmer Eye Clinic/Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine), who led the Boards for six years after Founding President Stephen Ryan, MD, will continue to serve on each Board as President Emeritus.

NAEVR and AEVR thank Dr. McDonnell for his leadership. The Alliances also thank outgoing officers Bart Mondino, MD (Stein Eye Institute/UCLA) and Tom Yorio, PhD (University of North Texas Health Science Center) who served as Vice President and Treasurer, respectively, for their dedicated service.

The National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR) is a 501(c)4 non-profit advocacy coalition comprised of 55 professional, consumer, and industry organizations involved in eye and vision research. Visit the Web site at

The Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR), a 501(c)3 non-profit foundation, conducts sustained educational efforts, such as its Congressionally recognized Decade of Vision 2010-2020 Initiative, about the value of federally funded vision research. Visit the Web site at