NAEVR and AEVR Boards Elect Officers and New Directors, Recognize Retiring Directors

(Washington, D.C.) Today, the Board of Directors of each the National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR) and the Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR) elected a slate of 2021-2023 Officers as follows:  

  • President: Paul Lee, MD, JD (Kellogg Eye Center/University of Michigan)
  • Vice President: Iris Rush, CAE (Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, ARVO)
  • Treasurer: Greg Skuta, MD (Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma College of Medicine)
  • Kelly Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD (University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry)

Each Board also elected three new Directors to serve in the class of 2021-2024:

  • T. Rowan Candy, PhD, BSc (Optometry), MCOptom, Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor of Optometry and Vision Science, Adjunct Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences (Indiana University School of Optometry)
  • Marissa Goldberg, Chief Executive Officer (Doheny Eye Institute)
  • Stephen D. McLeod, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Ophthalmology (University of California San Francisco)

During the election, Dr. Lee also recognized three term-limited Directors participating in their last meeting, which included Linda Hazlett, PhD (Wayne State University School of Medicine), Bartly Mondino, MD (Jules Stein Eye Institute/University of California Los Angeles), and Earl Smith, OD, PhD (University of Houston College of Optometry). Dr. Lee stated:

“The Boards of each NAEVR and AEVR thank Dr. Hazlett, Dr. Mondino, and Dr. Smith for their dedicated service and commitment to the Alliances. Each has a record of significant individual accomplishments in their service to the Alliances and have played vital roles as Directors during a time of great success in NAEVR advocacy for vision research funding increases and AEVR education about the value of vision research.”   

The National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR) is a 501(c)4 non-profit advocacy coalition comprised of 50 professional, consumer, and industry organizations involved in eye and vision research. The Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR), a 501(c)3 non-profit foundation, conducts sustained educational efforts, such as its Research Saving Sight, Restoring Vision Initiative about the value of federally funded vision research.